Who Has The Authority To Identify And Notify Wetlands Upsc?

Search NextJob for answers

Who can notify wetlands in India?

The Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change (MoEF&CC) has notified Wetlands (Conservation and Management) Rules, 2017 under the provisions of the Environment (Protection) Act, 1986 as regulatory framework for conservation and management of wetlands in India.

Sponsored:Samanya Adhyayan Notes for UPSC Prelims & Mains for 2024 Exam Preparation


Who identifies wetlands in India?

In India, according to the National Wetland Inventory and Assessment compiled by the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO), wetlands are spread over 1,52,600 square kilometres (sq km) which is 4.63 per cent of the total geographical area of the country.

Which is the nodal agency who governs the wetlands in India?

Ministry of Environment, Forest & Climate Change (MoEFCC), Government of India as per the notification No. G.S.R 1203 (E) dated 26.09.

What is Montreux record Upsc?

The Montreux Record is a register of wetland sites on the ‘List of Wetlands of International Importance’ where variations in ecological character have happened, are happening, or are likely to happen as an outcome of technological developments, pollution, or other human interference.

Who notifies wetlands?

As per Wetlands (Conservation and Management) Rules, 2017 all states and UTs should have prepared a list of wetlands to be notified, within six months from the date of publication of the rules. “Different states are in different stages of identifying wetlands.

See also  What Is Probation In Upsc?

How is wetland notified in India?

Following the notification of draft Wetland Rules in 2016, the Ministry of Environment Forest and Climate Change (MoEFCC) notified the Wetland (Conservation and Management) Rules, 2017 in order to prohibit a range of activities in wetlands. The updated rules will supersede the 2010 rules.

Which authority declares a wetland to be a Ramsar?

Ramsar sites are wetlands of international importance as per UNESCO’s 1971 Convention on Wetlands held in Ramsar, Iran. Officials said the certification brings visibility to ecologically sensitive wetlands and helps in conservation.

How wetlands are identified?

Identification of wetlands using the federal delineation method primarily involves the determination of three factors: the predominance of wetland vegetation, hydric (wetland) soils, and signs of hydrology. The presence of water (the hydrology) is necessary at certain times of the year for the development of a wetland.

How do scientists identify wetlands?

A wetland can typically be identified as such by the presence of characteristic environments related to water, soil, and aquatic plants. Water is a critical component in every wetland habitat. In a wetland, soil is either saturated or covered by shallow water for at least part of the year.

What is wetland authority?

The new rules stipulate setting up of a State Wetlands Authority in each State and union territories that will be headed by the State’s environment minister and include a range of government officials.