Who Are Included In Minority For Upsc?

Search NextJob for answers

How many minorities are there in UPSC in India?

The Union government, under the National Commission on Minorities Act 1992 has recognized 6 minority communities that is Muslims, Christians, Sikhs, Buddhists, Parsis, and Jains.

Sponsored:Samanya Adhyayan Notes for UPSC Prelims & Mains for 2024 Exam Preparation


Who can declare a community as minority in India UPSC?

Currently, only those communities notified under section 2(c) of the NCM (National Commission for Minorities) Act, 1992, by the central government are regarded as minority.

What defines a minority group?

A minority in the territory of a State means it is not the majority. Objectively, that means that an ethnic, religious or linguistic group makes up less than half the population of a country.

How many attempts are required for UPSC for minorities?

A general category/EWS category candidate has 6 attempts in the UPSC IAS exam. OBC candidates have 9 attempts; SC/ST candidates have no bar on the number of attempts (they can take the exam until they reach the upper age limit).

Who is unfit for UPSC?

Diseases like hernia, varicose veins, hydrocele, haemorrhoids, etc. are declared temporarily unfit and should be declared fit after successful surgery. Candidates with malignancies at the time of entry to service are declared unfit. Candidates with transplanted organs are declared unfit.

See also  Was The Right To Information Amendment Bill 2013 Upsc Passesd?

Who all comes under minority?

Ans. Muslims, Sikhs, Christians, Buddhists, Jain and Zorastrians (Parsis) have been notified as minority communities under Section 2 (c) of the National Commission for Minorities Act, 1992. As per the Census 2011, the percentage of minorities in the country is about 19.3% of the total population of the country.

Do OBC belongs to minority?

OBC is not a minority community. OBC is a category used by the Government of India to classify people that are educationally or socially disadvantaged. Even though the term minority has been used in our constitution, the constitution has not attempted to define it.

How do I check my minority status?

You can track the application status online via Karnataka Nadakacheri Portal. Provide application number and click on seek out option; minority certificate application status will be displayed.

What are the 5 minority groups?

There are seven key minority groupings: Latinos (including Puerto Ricans), African Americans, Asian Pacific Americans, Arab and other Middle Eastern Americans, Native Americans, Native Hawai’ians, and Inuit and Alaska Natives.

What are the four types of minority groups?

Minority group membership is typically based on differences in observable characteristics or practices, such as: ethnicity (ethnic minority), race (racial minority), religion (religious minority), sexual orientation (sexual minority), or disability.