Is Longitute And Latitude Import For Upsc Study?

Search NextJob for answers

How many latitudes and longitudes are there Upsc?

The total number of latitudes is 180 and the total number of longitudes is 360.

Sponsored:Samanya Adhyayan Notes for UPSC Prelims & Mains for 2024 Exam Preparation


What is latitude for UPSC?

Latitudes are the imaginary lines drawn parallel to the equator. They are used to determine the distance of places at the North and South of the equator line. There are 180 imaginary lines drawn parallel to the equator that cover the earth’s surface from east to west.

Why is it important to study latitude and longitude?

Latitude and longitude make up the grid system that helps us identify absolute, or exact, locations on the Earth’s surface. You can use latitude and longitude to identify specific locations. Latitude and longitude are also helpful in identifying landmarks.

What is the difference between latitude and longitude Upsc?

Definition. Longitude is a measurement of distance east or west of the prime meridian, while latitude is the measurement of distance north or south of the Equator.

Why is 82.30 selected as standard meridian Upsc?

British Indiaofficially adopted the standard time zones in 1905, when picking the meridian passing east of Allahabad at 82.5° E longitude as the central meridian for India, corresponding to a single time zone for the country.

See also  How To Make Notes When Preparing For Upsc?

How many latitudes are there Ncert?

If parallels of latitude are drawn at an interval of one degree, there will be 89 parallels in the northern and the southern hemispheres each. The total number of parallels thus drawn, including the equator, will be 179.

What are the 7 important latitude?

the equator (0°) the Tropic of Cancer (23.5° north) the Tropic of Capricorn (23.5° south) the Arctic circle (66.5° north) the Antarctic circle (66.5° south) the North Pole (90° north) the South Pole (90° south)

What are the 5 famous lines of latitude?

What are the Major Lines of Latitude (or Parallels)? The five major parallels of latitudes from north to south are called: Arctic Circle, Tropic of Cancer, Equator, Tropic of Capricorn, and the Antarctic Circle.

What is time zone upsc?

India has one standard time zone called Indian Standard Time(IST). It is calculated from 82°30’E meridian passing through Mirzapur. Therefore, IST is plus 5.30 hours from the GMT.

What is the most important line of longitude and why?

The meridian that runs through Greenwich, England, is internationally accepted as the line of 0 degrees longitude, or prime meridian. The antimeridian is halfway around the world, at 180 degrees. It is the basis for the International Date Line.