How Upsc Recommends To Union Territories Pondicherry?

Who appoints CM of Puducherry UPSC?

The Lt. Governor is appointed by the President for a term of five years. The executive and legislative powers lie with the Chief Minister and his council of ministers, who are appointed by the President.

Why is Puducherry scattered Upsc?

The Treaty of Cession. The Treaty of Cession signed in 1956 is the primary reason why Puducherry and other French settlements are a union territory today and not merged in the states in which they are situated.

Does Article 356 apply to union territories?

Article 356 is not applicable to Union territories, so there are many ways by which President’s rule can be imposed in different Union territories with a Legislative Assembly.

Why Pondicherry is not a Union Territory?

On 1st November 1954, Pondicherry was transferred to India. A treaty of Cessation (together with Karaikal, Mahe and Yanam) was signed on May 28, 1956. It became a Union Territory to be administered by the President of India in 1962 under the 14th Amendment of the Indian Constitution.

Does union territories have IAS officers?

The remaining 3 UTs viz. Daman and Diu, Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Lakshadweep are administered through IAS officers who are appointed as Administrators.

See also  How To Download Upsc Prelims Test Series?

Why Pondicherry entrance is demolished?

PUDUCHERRY: Puducherry’s landmarks — an arch and pillars dedicated to Tamizhthai and late Congress stalwart Kamaraj square — at Madagadipet on Puducherry-Villupuram national highway at Puducherry-Tamil Nadu border were demolished for the widening of Villupuram-Nagapattinam national highway into a four-lane.

Why is Pondicherry unique?

Often referred to as the ‘French Capital of India’, Pondicherry is a vibrant city located on the south-eastern coast of India. Brimming with unspoiled beaches, heritage buildings, French and Tamil quarters, ancient temples and churches and a colonial ambience, this French Colony has a plethora of things to do and see.

Who controls union territories in India?

Union Territories are administrated by the President acting to such extent, as he thinks fit, through an Administrator appointed by him. Administrators of Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Delhi and Puducherry are designated as Lieutenant Governors. The Governor of Punjab is concurrently the Administrator of Chandigarh.

Which article is related to union territories?

(c) The provisions of articles 324 to 327 and 329 shall apply in relation to the National Capital Territory, the Legislative Assembly of the National Capital Territory and the members thereof as they apply, in relation to a State, the Legislative Assembly of a State and the members thereof respectively; and any …

Is Panchayati Raj applicable in union territories?

Currently, the Panchayati Raj system exists in all states except Nagaland, Meghalaya, and Mizoram, and in all Union Territories except Delhi.