How To Study Iucn List For Upsc?

What are the 7 categories of the IUCN Red List?

Data Deficient (DD) Least Concern (LC) Near Threatened (NT) Vulnerable (VU) Endangered (EN) Critically Endangered (CR) Extinct In The Wild (EW) Extinct (EX)

What is IUCN category UPSC?

What is IUCN classification? The IUCN classifies species on the basis of their extinction/conservation status as extinct (EX), extinct in the wild (EW), critically endangered (CR), endangered (EN), vulnerable (VU), near threatened (NT), least concern (LC), data deficient (DD) and not evaluated (NE).

What is IUCN Red List UPSC?

The IUCN red list provides taxonomic data, conservation status, and distribution information on species that are facing a high risk of global extinction. This is an important topic for UPSC and other government exams.

What are the 9 categories of the IUCN Red List?

EXTINCT (EX) A taxon is Extinct when there is no reasonable doubt that the last individual has died. EXTINCT IN THE WILD (EW) CRITICALLY ENDANGERED (CR) ENDANGERED (EN) VULNERABLE (VU) NEAR THREATENED (NT) LEAST CONCERN (LC) DATA DEFICIENT (DD)

Is India a member of IUCN?

India became a State Member of IUCN in 1969, through the Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change (MoEFCC). The IUCN India Country Office was established in 2007 in New Delhi.

See also  How To Get Old Upsc Admit Card?

What is blue data book?

Blue Data Books’ include additional information on. the ecology, conservation, and promotion of the species. For. describing the overall change of abundance of every indi- vidual species six categories are defined.

What is IUCN called as now?

International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN), in full International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources, formerly called World Conservation Union, network of environmental organizations founded as the International Union for the Protection of Nature in October 1948 in Fontainebleau, France, …

What are 2 goals of the IUCN?

IUCN’s objectives are to influence, encourage and assist societies throughout the world to conserve the integrity and diversity of nature and to ensure that any use of natural resources is equitable and ecologically sustainable.

Who can declare wildlife sanctuary Upsc?

Conservation Reserves can be declared by the State Governments in any area owned by the Government, particularly the areas adjacent to National Parks and Sanctuaries and those areas which link one Protected Area with another. Such declaration should be made after having consultations with the local communities.

Who prepares red data book?

Currently, the International Union for Conservation of Nature maintains the Red Data Book. IUCN is the world’s most detailed inventory centre of the global conservation status of biological species.